14 October 2013 0 Comments

California’s Safe Surrender Law

Follow Us

Did you give birth to a baby and you’re not in a position to keep him or her? Stay calm – you have options. Under California’s Safe Surrender Law, you may surrender your baby for adoption or foster care. You have 72 hours to surrender your baby to a hospital without having to face prosecution.

You are not alone. Did you know that more than 500 babies have been surrendered, including 150 which were found after being illegally abandoned? Upon surrender, you and your baby are given wristbands to assure the child is placed back with you if you change your mind about giving him or her up – you have a 14-day grace period to get your baby back.

In the meantime, your baby is thoroughly checked and then placed in a pre-adoption home or in foster care. Nothing will happen to you if you surrender your baby in this manner; however, if you abandon your baby in an illegal way, you will be subject to arrest or prosecution.

With so many babies being born today, California requires that schools teach their students about Safe Surrender methods – according to Assembly Bill 2817.

If you have been charged with abandoning your child, contact the family law offices of Holstrom, Sissung, Marks & Anderson. Our attorneys will make every effort to help you avoid the most serious penalties and repercussions to your alleged offense. We have offices in Orange and Riverside Counties.

Comments are closed.